What yoga means to me

by TheOasisWithin

What yoga means to me

Someone once asked me, “What does yoga mean to you?”

And here was my reply:

No one has asked me this before because everyone just thinks that I practice yoga as a way to work out. It is one of the benefits that I get from practicing though. Practicing hatha yoga is a way for me to cultivate single-pointedness. It is a time where I get to feel connected with my inner self. Technically, yoga in general allows me to bring my inner being and my mind together as one. Yoga = union. Union with myself, mother Earth, and Father Sky.

In other words, yoga is my inner burning flame when all lights go out in the dark. It is what I have left to bring myself together, when all else fails. It connects me with who I really am, and of course with God.

