The true meaning of relationships to me

by TheOasisWithin

“Love comes naturally when we don’t need each other.”

This is what my boyfriend told me last night before we drifted off to sleep.

Being with him has taught me that the purpose of being in a relationship is not to have someone who completes you; but to have someone who you can share your completeness and wholeness with. Relationships are about opening yourself to the possibilities and deciding what part of yourself is an exclamation of who you really are. It isn’t about what part of another person will reach/ exceed your expectations, thwart your judgments, or meet your needs. Relationships are for mutual interdependency, not emotional, mental, and physical dependency.

A few months ago, I told him, “I don’t need you in my life. I can do well with or without you.” And he considers this the best thing I have ever told him.

